Passengers are reminded

The following poem of mine appeared in The Canberra Times last Saturday, 18th May.  It will also be in my new book, Drag down to unlock or place an emergency call, out late 2013 from Pitt St Poetry.

TrainDoorsClosingPic

Doors closing. Please stand clear.

Passengers are reminded

The 11.44 Emu Plains service will depart in six minutes

a cigarette butt is stuck to the black spiked heel of my left shoe

This service is experiencing a slight delay due to a sick customer at Town Hall

I have been carrying the lilies too long

This service is experiencing continuing delays due to a sick customer at Town Hall

the petal edges fray to bruised brown, like old lettuce

Customers wishing to travel on the Western line are advised to proceed to platform twelve

my black stockings are bunched and twisted

Customers are reminded

The 13.00 funeral service

will commence promptly at the appointed time

whether I am there or not

This is the 12.09 Lithgow service

First stop –

Rust-coloured crumbs of lily pollen on my black suit

– then all stations to –

my mind is still not full enough

Doors closing. Please stand clear.

(c) Melinda Smith 2013

4 thoughts on “Passengers are reminded

  1. Hullo!! Are Canberra Times publishing poetry again? I thought they’d stopped.

    Well done & I hope you are well.

    Sincerely,

    Michelle x

    • Hi Michelle, yes, they’ve just started up again although I’m not sure it will be every week. Geoff Page is now poetry editor.

  2. Pingback: Passengers are reminded – Melinda Smith – Analysis | my word in your ear

  3. Pingback: Melinda Smith’s Drag down to unlock or place an emergency call | Me fail? I fly!

Leave a Reply

