Creative Writing Workshops for Majura Women’s Group

Somewhat belatedly I thought I should write about some workshops I have been teaching for Majura Women’s Group this term.  MWG is a community group run by and for mothers at home with young children – check out their website for more information.

The workshops I have been running have been for the MWG ‘Backyard Project’, which for 2010 will take the form of each participant producing her own hand-bound book.  My job this term has been to help each woman produce some content for her book.  We have been learning about life writing, writing for children, short story writing and a bit of poetry on the side.  We also did a session on editing your own work.  This Wednesday I am doing my final session with them – it will mostly just be providing time to write (the kids are all in a creche next door for two hours), along with constructive feedback on draft pieces for those who want it.

I must say the whole process has been very inspiring and I have learned a lot from it.  There also some really talented writers in the group – I am really looking forward to seeing what they produce by the end of the term.

If you are a mother at home with young children living on the Northside of Canberra and this sounds like fun then it’s not too late – you can join in at any time.  This Wednesday will be the last chance to hear from me about creative writing, but for the next two terms the Backyard Project-ors will be learning drawing and printmaking, followed by book-binding in Term 4.   Come along to Downer Community Centre on a Wednesday morning and nourish your mind !

Leave a Reply

