Hot continent

‘The weather comes from Adelaide’, they say.
I thank them for the forty-one degrees
they kindly sent to stifle us today.
The grey lawns thank them also. And the trees.
So many nicer things they could have sent –
an Oval, or a Festival; some Hills.
I’m sure the oven-blast was kindly meant
but eggs were frying on our window sills.
The Bureau tells us to expect a change
and, tongues lolled out like dogs, we pant and wait
and fixate on the temperature range
for points far west of where we dehydrate:
if Adelaide today had twenty-three
please God (please, God!), tomorrow so will we.

published in The Canberra Times, March 2009

4 thoughts on “Hot continent

  1. Hi Melinda I just wanted to let you know that there is an award for you on my blog!!! I love your poetry and just wanted to thank you for your interest in my work!! See you next week and check out your award!!! Thank you,Nicola xxx

  2. Hi Melinda,

    Wow your own website. This is the first time I have had a look. I really enjoyed this poem (the idea of Adelaide sending us some Hills instead! awesome! but with my editor’s eyes on I found ‘tongues lolled out like dogs’ just the teensiest bit cliched. I feel very insignificant and puny trying to criticise a published and prize-winning poet’s work but I am trying to get into practise for my future career! So you will probably be hearing more from me. lol.

    Natalie

Leave a Reply

