Mother Love

Wave after wave, the ocean counts the cost
by piling sheets of water on the sand.
I dreamt before your birth that you were lost.
I think I have begun to understand.

By piling sheets of water on the sand
the sea offers its body, slice by slice.
I think I have begun to understand.
I love you knowing sorrow is the price.

The sea offers its body, slice by slice,
heaving itself onto an empty beach.
I love you knowing sorrow is the price.
I start a task whose end I’ll never reach.

Heaving itself onto an empty beach,
the sea still finds the energy to give.
I start a task whose end I’ll never reach.
I give you life, not knowing how you’ll live.

The sea still finds the energy to give.
I dreamt before your birth that you were lost.
I give you life, not knowing how you’ll live.
Wave after wave, the ocean counts the cost.

from Mapless in Underland, Ginninderra Press, 2004

6 thoughts on “Mother Love

  1. Hmmmm… how long has this sneaky blog been gong on?
    Nice meditation on the sea though as an older fan I have to harken back to having read it on paper way back before the ACTION bus poems.
    I gotta get outta here – that red pen is pointing at me.

  2. Pingback: Latest News « Melinda Smith’s Mull and Fiddle

Leave a Reply

